Another Adiós

Despite everything I’ve said here, in the moment I have to say goodbye for another long time, there is nothing I wouldn’t give to have fallen in love with someone in my own country. Or to have been born Argentinean. Yeah, it’s wonderful, different, interesting. But I just feel like it’s a situation that inevitably presents you with painful, impossible choices. Who will leave their family? Who will abandon the comfort and success they might have had at home for unknown struggles abroad? Who will face the isolation of always being an outsider?  It seems so unfair that you build something beautiful only to know that it will always go hand in hand with loss and sadness. Or maybe that’s just how life works.

I want to discover some kind of magical solution to this problem. Has anyone figured it out? Please point me to them. What I’m realizing is that it’s not the cultural differences that make this something people advise you to avoid. It’s that it sets you up for a lifetime of challenges and heartache. And perhaps it’s what you most love about each other, everything you bring from your home experiences, that makes it harder in the end.

3 responses to “Another Adiós

  1. mi amor, I completely feel your pain and I wish I was there to snuggle it away! I wish I had a definite answer for all the questions you raise here, but as I told you before, I do think that it’s worth it, and that it IS possible. Who knows?! Maybe if you had an American boyfriend, you would have wished to have that exciting, unknown element that you have now with the H-word. I think every relationship has its hurdles, but as cliche as it sounds, you can make it work!!… 🙂
    You know, I look at some of my friends, so many of them have parents who were born in other countries and moved to Israel for their husband/wife (the D-word’s mom for example, who came here from Brazil at the age of 26). And besides, think of all the people we met at Udub who had parents from the most random places in the world and still made it work. I know that it seems very far away now (and it is), and in general, these couples are not something we’re used to seeing in our everyday life, pero esta posibleeee!!!!!!
    TQM

  2. despues de “another adios”…vuelve a existir “another hola mi amor” 🙂

  3. tenes razon. siempre. ññññññññññññññ

Leave a Reply

